Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)

 

 

Oh Boy! Where do I start?

This is the second book in the Dark Artifices series, carrying on the story of the shadowhunters.  I received a notification that book three was due out December 2018 which made me realise I had book two sitting in the to read pile in my Kindle.  ( Sometimes that really causes me a problem, because I cant see the books as easily i forget what I’ve got – although great news, this years to read pile is down to 42, a reduction from last year!

I love a book that takes us to the world of faerie and this one doesn’t disappoint.

I was more interested in the actual characters than  the larger plot arc was.  I honestly think anything could be happening and I’d be just as engrossed because of Cassie writing style, and character development.

Holly Black Holds the Queen of Faerie title, but Cassandra Clare  has really developed this world with her, in addition to the love triangles and forbidden romance,

For me the best characters this time out were Kit and Ty; Kit is learning what a shadowhunter is, and can do but brings mundane world understanding to Ty’s condition. The friendship between these two is building – lets see where that goes.. parabatai or something more!

 

Official Blurb:

Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again?

And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear—before it’s too late.

The book is out now – dont do what I did and forget you have it to read. Read it now!!!
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Categories Uncategorized, Young AdultTags , , , ,

Leave a comment