Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark, #1)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I enjoyed the story. I think. Alot happened although it seemed like nothing much did – it makes me want to re read the book to check and see what I missed.
The start of the book is slow, I’m sure this is to help to understand the people (Shotets and Thuvhe) and the lives they live and the characters we were being introduced to. Despite this I found it hard to get to know the characters, and I’m sure I changed how i say them in my head on multiple occasions.
In short this book is reminding you that you cant change your fate, no matter what you do; but people can change, and as they grow and learn they become different people. The plot-line is simple, Kidnapped boy meets isolated girl, love, and an evil dictator type to overthrow – all based in other worlds.
The two main characters, Cyra and Akos draw you in, they are innocents caught up in a world of war and dictatorship, and I think its the sort of book that benefits from being read in a sitting or two than in little parts (or in the ‘book’ sections set out in it) to help stay in touch with the story.
I’m not raving about it or suggesting you rush out and buy but I’ll be honest and say I’ll be looking out for Book two

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

