One of us is Lying

One of Us Is LyingOne of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

One of us is lying appealed to me as it sounded a bit like Gossip Girl gone wrong.
It was an ARC from the good people at netgalley. The storyline caught my interest straight away, we flick between the multiple lead characters, learning just enough about them to start guessing whodunit, but not enough to really know or empathise with them. Some of the names were a little unusual, and made me wish they had nicknames ( Bronwyn is the prime example here) but it also highlighted the elite-ness that her family held in comparison to Nate, (a normal name)
It a good read, and without spoiling the ending its about 50% guessable with who the ‘villains’ of the story are. This doesn’t matter though as the narration creates a who will come out of this smelling like roses mystery alongside the find the killer plot.

View all my reviews

Ensnared by Rita Stradling

Ensnared

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was courtesy of NetGalley showing me the book cover, and I because of the beauty and the beast reference.

I expected it to be princessey, but Im really glad it wasn’t. It’s a great insight into the world of artificial intelligence wrapped up in a simple love story, including acceptance of peoples compulsions, whether it be germs, adrenaline or gambling.
The story started slowly for me, and there were some points where I suddenly started thinking but what about, which was followed a chapter later by a workaround/explanation for it. It picks up pace towards the end – but its definitely a slow burner. I enjoyed the story – it’s a shame some of the characters were more developed to ‘round’ the story.

View all my reviews

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark, #1)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I enjoyed the story. I think. Alot happened although it seemed like nothing much did – it makes me want to re read the book to check and see what I missed.
The start of the book is slow, I’m sure this is to help to understand the people (Shotets and Thuvhe) and the lives they live and the characters we were being introduced to. Despite this I found it hard to get to know the characters, and I’m sure I changed how i say them in my head on multiple occasions.
In short this book is reminding you that you cant change your fate, no matter what you do; but people can change, and as they grow and learn they become different people. The plot-line is simple, Kidnapped boy meets isolated girl, love, and an evil dictator type to overthrow – all based in other worlds.
The two main characters, Cyra and Akos draw you in, they are innocents caught up in a world of war and dictatorship, and I think its the sort of book that benefits from being read in a sitting or two than in little parts (or in the ‘book’ sections set out in it) to help stay in touch with the story.
I’m not raving about it or suggesting you rush out and buy but I’ll be honest and say I’ll be looking out for Book two

View all my reviews

The Girl Before – J P Delany

I enjoyed the idea of living by the rules, everything in its place, no unnecessary items in your life, constant checks on your life to help you improve your mental state and health. Actually I just like the idea of an always clean kitchen!

The story flicks between the then story of a previous tenant and the now story of the current. Both seeming to be vulnerable and have similarly appearances. The story is about who killed Emma, because Jane has a better chance of survival if she knows.

The promo about the book suggested to me that the tenants lived under stricter rules then actually were applied, I was thinking more big brother house than come and go as you please. I wasn’t disappointed though. It’s difficult to tell from a kindle, but I think the book is a good ‘short’ read. – I finished it in a night, because the book flows well it makes this so easy to keep reading.

It’s a good distraction for a couple of hours and worth a read, but I don’t think it needs to be at the top of your neatly stacked book reading list.

How to Murder Your Life – Cat Marnell

How to Murder Your LifeHow to Murder Your Life by Cat Marnell

When I requested this book as an ARC from Netgalley I had no idea who Cat Marnell was, it was the title and description that grabbed me. The, as I read the pages it was harder and harder not to google who she was ( I didn’t want to spoil the ending!). Now its over I’m going to be straight online to read some of the things shes written and just be nosey at some of the websites.
I really enjoyed this book – there’s a lot of talk about drugs which some readers may not enjoy, but I found it fascinating to hear how the highs and lows felt, and understand the struggle people have.  Alot of the references to pop culture resonated with me, and I feel that I just want to go and spend an hour in her, flicking through magazines. ( Im also a fan of the Conde Nast publications)
The fashion and beauty magazine world was also interesting and intriguing – and I now feel like I must’ve been living under a rock to not have heard of Cat before… I really enjoyed this read… it was easy to keep up with what was happening and an interesting insight into a world of addiction Vs ambition.

View all my reviews

Want You Gone – Chris Brookmyre

Want You Gone (Jack Parlabane, #8)Want You Gone by Christopher Brookmyre

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Thanks to the people at Little, brown book group and NetGalley I got the next installment in the Jack Parlabane series as an ARC. It’s scheduled to be published in April so for me Easter has come early.
Let me start by admitting I am a huge fan of Brookmyres writing. It’s political, informative, and share his obvious fan status when it comes to Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

This is the eighth instalment in the Parlabane series – in which we follow a journalist who will do almost anything to get is story, whilst uncovering the truth. His accomplice is someone we have met before, but know little about, Buzzkill. The story is about Parlabanes return to journalism, but the main theme is hacking, and I’ll admit some parts really did make me question my own online security along with some OMG moments of realisation.

For me this book was perfect, even though there was a techy acronym or two that I had to refer to google for. It flowed well, and I couldn’t stop turning the pages. The real identity of Buzzkill should have been obvious early on, a little like the ending but I think because you get so involved in the story from the first chapter there isn’t the opportunity to think ahead and try to work it out which is good. I think whether you’re a fan of crime fiction, Brookmyre or just wanting a book to read this should be on your 2017 must read list.

View all my reviews

The Fifth Letter – Nicola Moriarty

The Fifth LetterThe Fifth Letter by Nicola Moriarty

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I thought (hoped) I was beginning a book that was going to be of a similar style to the writing of Sophie Kinsella – I couldn’t have been more wrong. And more disappointed. I often enjoy realising I’ve made a mistake and that sticking with a book is a good thing – this time i really wish Id made a new years resolution to quit while I’m ahead!

The Fifth letter promotes itself as ‘A fun vacation game turns destructive, exposing dark secrets, deeply buried grudges, and a shocking betrayal in Nicola Moriarity’s intriguing debut.’  This for me is overselling the storyline.

Throughout the book the narrative flips between one of the four lead characters, and I found myself frequently losing track of who was talking, and who was who in general.
This is the story of four women clinging to an old friendship and sharing older secrets. The confessions of one to the priest feel like a way for the story to be explained more.
Yes someone ends up in hospital, babies are born but nothing really happens. This for me took me far too long to read about nothing and I’m left wishing I had giving up the fight after the first few chapters.

This was an ARC from NetGalley.

View all my reviews

Caraval

Caraval (Caraval, #1)Caraval by Stephanie Garber
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a book I received as an ARC from NetGalley. I was drawn in by both the cover and the description for Caraval. For readers who enjoyed Night Circus and DreamHunter this is one you’ll likely enjoy.
This story moved a little slowly for me, a tale of two sisters would do anything to protect each other, one rebellious one cautious lost in a magical world is a little old and tired. The story felt like it was being dragged out for me, it could quite easily have been a novella.

View all my reviews

Good Me, Bad MeGood Me, Bad Me by Ali Land

Thank you to NetGalley for this ARC .
I couldn’t put it down. Originally I struggled to work out if the cover intrigued me or just scared me a little ( girl from the grudge style) but on the kindle you don’t see that anyway.
The book follows the story of a teenage girl whose mother has been arrested for killing children. I feel an instant sympathy for the lead character, Annie/Millie who was brave enough to report her own mother. My imagination pictured her on a regular basis to be alot younger than she was so whilst the fear that is generated by her is obvious to the characters around her i didn’t feel it.
I can see this being a big Book Club Book as it has a fast flowing storyline and so many questions posed.

View all my reviews

Final Girls – Riley Seger

32796253

I had my wish granted by the NetGalley Angels for this ARC – I am so happy it was granted.

This book centers around Quincy, a survivor, last girl standing following a massacre. Now year later leading a normal life Sam turns up, also a survivor.

As Quincy cant recall the details of that night in the woods we jump between present day, and that night. The storyline creates an instant distrust of Sam, is she really who she says she is, how has she managed to hide all these years? As I went through the book, I ended up really questioning most of the characters – who really was responsible for the massacre, Sam, the cop? The boyfriend? Quincy herself?
I ve got around 20% of the book left to go and I’ve now got a pretty good idea of how it will play out, some obvious clues if you think about them.

I found this book page turning from start to finish, as thrillers go it kept me on my toes, the wrong footing of the narrative and final outcome was pleasantly believable, once this becomes a best seller Im sure it’ll be snapped up to be a blockbuster.